|  October 26, 2014  |  
Partly Cloudy   31.0F  |  Forecast »
Bookmark and Share Email this page Email Print this page Print Feed Feed

New Reports: Budget Passed by U.S. House of Representatives Will Decimate Health Care for People in Every State

State-Specific Reports Released April 10
Will Show How Huge Cuts in the Medicare and Medicaid Programs
Will Harm Seniors and Families in Each State

Washington, D.C.—On March 29, 2012, the U.S. House of Representatives, in a partisan vote, adopted a federal budget proposal that would transform the Medicare program to a voucher system; would convert Medicaid to a block grant program with $810 billion in reduced funding to the states over the next decade; and would repeal the Affordable Care Act. 

On Tuesday, April 10, 2012, at 1 p.m. EDT, Families USA—the national organization for health care consumers—will release two reports that illustrate the potential effect of the proposal on health care in every state. The reports will estimate:

* The amount of federal Medicaid funds that could be lost in each state over the next ten years if the House-adopted budget is enacted into law;

* The amount of tax-credit subsidies that middle class families in each state would lose under the Republican proposal; 

* The number of people with Medicare in each state who have major prescription drug costs and would lose the assistance they are now receiving to make such costs affordable;

* The average cut in benefits that people with Medicare would experience as a result of the House proposal to convert Medicare to a voucher program; and

* The overall ten-year fiscal impact in each state under the Republican proposal.  

WHAT: Teleconference for Media and Release of Families USA Reports on
          State-by-State Impact of Planned Radical Changes to Medicare and
          Huge Cuts to Medicaid
 
WHEN: 1 p.m. EDT, Noon CDT, 11 a.m. MDT, 10 a.m. PDT
           Tuesday, April 10, 2012

HOW: Dial in toll-free: 888-220-8440
         Confirmation code: 4296084
   
WHO: Ron Pollack, Executive Director, Families USA


 

Families USA is the national organization for health care consumers. It is nonprofit and nonpartisan, and its mission is to secure high-quality, affordable health coverage and care for all Americans.

1201 New York Avenue, NW, Suite 1100 * Washington, DC  20005 * 202-628-3030 * Fax: 202-347-2417 * E-mail: info@familiesusa.org * Web site: www.familiesusa.org

 

Add your comment:
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement