Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

First Lady Announces Volunteers of the Year Awards


April 3, 2010, Juneau, Alaska – First Lady Sandy Parnell today announced the recipients of the First Lady’s Volunteers of the Year Awards.

“It is an honor to participate in this wonderful program that recognizes citizens who have given their time and talent to help others,” said First Lady Parnell. “Our state is blessed to have so many Alaskans committed to helping their communities and fellow citizens.”

The First Lady’s Volunteers of the Year Awards are awarded to those who engage in unpaid volunteer activities within Alaska, show remarkable personal commitment to long-term volunteer service, and have made a substantial impact on their community or the state.

The 2010 Volunteers of the Year recipients are:

AmeriCorps: Alexis Dodge of Wasilla

Business: LEAD Program of Anchorage

Faith Based: Mother Alice Lawrence of Anchorage

Family: Barbara Coopes of Anchorage

Youth: Charity Lee of Sitka

Youth: Alexis Cobb of Anchorage

Military Veteran: David C. Eastman Jr. of Wasilla

Military Veteran: Suellyn Wright Novak of EagleRiver

Adult: Claudette Curtis of Douglas

Adult: Eugina Risdal of Anchorage

Adult: Larry Porter of Kenai

Adult: Joerene Hout of Anchorage

Lifetime Achievement: Mary Jo Parks of Palmer

The volunteers will be recognized at a luncheon and ceremony on May 6, in conjunction with AmeriCorps Week May 8-15.
Edit Module

Add your comment: